This forum is officially closed. It will however remain online and active in a limited form for the time being.

Tarot and meditation - an idea for a walking meditation with tarot

In-depth looks at your favourite decks and friendly discussions about individual cards and their symbolism and meanings. Something for everyone here. Tarot (modern & historical), Lenormand, & Oracle.
Nemia
Sage

Tarot and meditation - an idea for a walking meditation with tarot

Post by Nemia »

Many people use tarot as focus or inspiration in meditation, but I'm not good at meditation (I pray a lot but didn't get the hang of meditation yet). The only form of meditation that really works well for me is walking meditation. I have a route that I love to walk and I meditate while walking. It's nothing formal, I just focus on my body walking for the first part of the walk. I love Emil Zatopek's words, "fish swim, birds fly, humans run", and even though I walk and don't run, it's still true (and sometimes I run, too, but I prefer to walk).

Sometimes, I connect my tarot practice with walking meditation. When I did a strong reading for example I took my regular walk and let it all go through my mind, and had some wonderful insights. It seems the moving body has wisdom that the body sitting at a table doesn't have.

I'd like to meditate in a more structured fashion while walking, and I'll try it soon. I'll do a three card reading before I set out. One card for the warm-up, one for the walk itself, the third for the cool-down. I might even put the cards into my little pouch; my new Nova Tarot seems ideal for that.

Let's see how it works, I'll keep you updated.
I Sunshine
Sybil

Re: Tarot and meditation - an idea for a walking meditation with tarot

Post by I Sunshine »

Nemia, I ran across the idea of looking at your surrounding and seeing if there are any Tarot type symbols that jump out at you when you are on a walk. Have you heard of or practiced this??
Nemia
Sage

Post by Nemia »