This forum is officially closed. It will however remain online and active in a limited form for the time being.

Your five book recommendations

Discussions and reviews of Tarot & related topics in modern culture.
Forum rules
PLEASE NOTE: Books about Tarot de Marseilles are discussed in the TdM forum HERE
Nemia
Sage

Your five book recommendations

Post by Nemia »

What are in your opinion the must-haves for the tarot book shelf? I'll put mine into three categories: for beginners, for intermediate to advanced reader, and special interest books. Oh, and let's add also the four best books for a specific deck.

I numbered the books just to make it easier to keep track - they're all of equal value and I didn't grade them.

The five best tarot books for beginners:

1. Anthony Louis, Tarot Plain and Simple

anthony louis tarot plain and simple.jpg
anthony louis tarot plain and simple.jpg (18.49 KiB) Viewed 3133 times

This is probably the most popular book for total beginners and with good reason. It covers every topic beginners need: a short history of the tarot, tarot structure, card meanings, spreads and how to put it all together. Louis writes well and concise. It's probably impossible to write a better book for beginners that gives intelligent answers to beginners' questions - how and why does the tarot work? and how can I make it work for myself?

2. Mary K. Greer, Tarot for Your Self

mary greer tarot for your self.jpg
mary greer tarot for your self.jpg (20.57 KiB) Viewed 3133 times

If you want to make tarot reading relevant to your own life, if you want to find a personal connection to each card and start a committed long-term relationship with your deck of cards - work through this book. Many newer books are actually inspired by it. Mary's blog is one of my must-reads.

3. Barbara Moore, Tarot for Beginners
barbara moore beginners.jpg
barbara moore beginners.jpg (6.81 KiB) Viewed 3133 times